Hope Deferred

Lonely man

Note: This poem was written in March of 2000 at the end of 20 years of emotional isolation and depression that, by the grace of God, was about to end.

From where does all this pain arise?
Why does my heart cry within?
Tokens of love abandoned in the street,
Hope dashed beneath men’s feet.

Surely God above planned more life than this,
A life scarred by war and toil.
Surely the One called Love brought us forth,
To do more than fertilize His soil.

Whereby do we gain His promise kept?
Wherewith is it caught and claimed?
Is not there more to this life found,
Than tears, sweat, blood and pain?

I know that there is a promise give’
Of perfect life by and by.
But would it be too much to ask,
To live His Life before I die?

Can a man so frail, wounded and weak,
Ever know happiness more than grief?
Can a lowly specimen such as I,
Know life that is more than a Thief?

I read novels of pain and sorrow,
But all abides well in the end.
I read a book of holy writ,
And it spoke of life freed of sin.

So here is Hope’s shadow on my door,
He wrestles with Reaper Grim.
That my parting days who is to say,
Might be blessed by peace within.

3 comments on “Hope Deferred

  1. That was really a poem that flowed from your heart, Michael. Thanks so much for sharing your struggles in these verses above that frankly.

    Blessings,
    Susanne

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Michael says:

    Thank you my dear friend. Your openness has been an inspiration to me to learn to speak and write more from my heart and less from my head. It is wonderful to know you.
    YOU are a blessing,
    Michael

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment